Sarkari Naukri Vacancy Job Recruitment in India from Central/State Governments, PSU, Courts, Universities, Banks, Armed Forces, Institutes

Modi Ministers who were in Government Jobs

Modi 2.0 Ministers who were in Government Jobs

Narender Modi lead BJP centric NDA has won General Election 2019 with a bang. BJP alone has got 303 seats in Lok Sabha and NDA has got more than 350 seats. SarkariNaukriBlog dot com

NDA 2.0 government took charge and the oath taking ceremony was held at Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi on 30th May 2019.

Narendra Modi takes oath as PM
Narender Modi sworn-in as Prime Minister of India

In the General Election 2019, many retired Government Servants contested the election and some current government employees took voluntary retirement to take part in the election.  While some IFS/IAS/IPS officers, bureaucrats, technocrats, career diplomats all tried their luck in the election. Almost all political parties have given tickets to former government employees. 

Some were lucky to get elected by the people of their constituency, while others not so lucky ones could not get elected. 

In fact, there is a sizable number of former government employees go elected to Lok Sabha in General Election 2019. Some of the former government servants are in Rajya Sabha as well. 

Ministers Who were in Government Jobs

Ministers in the new government took the oath on 30th May 2019.  As many as 8 new ministers were in government jobs prior to enter in politics.  

Have a look of the ministers who are in government jobs in their early ages. 

1. S. Subramanyam Jaishankar

Sh. Subramanyam Jaishankar took oath as Minister of External Affairs (MEA). He was in Indian Foreign Service (IFS) which is topmost government job cadre service in India. In India's first Prime Minister Pt Nehru's time, top rankers of Civil Service Examination go to IFS only. Sh. Jaishankar ji is a career diplomat and had served as India's ambassador to China and USA. He was Foreign Secretary from 2015 to 2018 in which he was given two year extension.

S. Jaishankar taking oath
S. Jaishankar taking oath as Minister

2. General (Retd.) V. K. Singh 

As General in the name denotes, Sh. Vijay Kumar Singh (VK Singh) is a retired Indian Army General who has become Minister of State for Road Transport and Highways.  Since 2014, he was Minister of State for External Affairs and Minister of State for North East Region. 

General V.K. Singh
Gen. (Retd.) V.K. Singh taking oath as Minister

3. Sh. R.K. Singh 

Sh. Shri R.K. Singh has taken over as the Union Minister of State (IC) for Power and New & Renewable Energy in Modi 2.0 government. Shri RK Singh had been an IAS officer with an impressive career record spanning nearly four decades. As a civil servant, he has held many important positions including those of Secretary, Department of Defence Production and Secretary, Home Affairs. As Principal Secretary, Road Construction Department of Bihar, he was widely credited with the transformation of the road network of the State.

S. R.K. Singh
Sh. R.K. Singh took oath as Minister

4. Hardeep Singh Puri

Sh. Hardeep Singh Puri has taken oath as the Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs; Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Civil Aviation; and Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry.  Sh. Hardeep Puri is a retired IFS Officer who was India's representative to the United Nations in 1990s.  

Sh. Hardeep Singh Puri
Sh. Hardeep Singh Puri taking oath as Minister

5. Sh. V. Muraleedharan

Although the BJP holds only one seat in the Assembly and has no Lok Sabha member from Kerala, Rajya Sabha member V. Muraleedharan is credited with building the BJP steadily in a state for long divided between the Congress-led UDF and Left. The 60-year-old Rajya Sabha member from Maharashtra S. V. Muraleedharan became the only Minister from Kerala to take oath as a member of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's ministry, entered full-time politics after quitting a government job.

Sh. Muraleedharan was made the Vice Chairman of the Nehru Yuva Kendra from 1999 to 2002 and for another two years, he became its Director General. His wife, K.S. Jayasree, is a college professor.

Sh. V. Muraleedharan
Sh. V. Muraleedharan taking oath as Minister

6. Sh. Arjun Ram Meghwal

Sh. Arjun Ram Meghwal has taken oath as Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs; and Minister of State in the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises.  

Arjun Ram Meghwal was in Government Job as Rajasthan Administrative Service (RAS)  Officer who was later promoted to IAS. 

Sh. Arjun Ram Meghwal
Sh. Arjun Ram Meghwal took oath as Minister

7. Sh. Jitendra Singh

Sh. Jitendra Singh has been elected to Lok Sabha from Udhampur (Jammu & Kashmir)  and has been made Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region; Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office; Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Minister of State in the Department of Atomic Energy; and Minister of State in the Department of Space.

Sh. Jitendra Singh was in Government Service as Professor of Diabetes and Endocrinology at Government Medical College, Jammu. 

Sh. Jitendra Singh, Minister
Sh. Jitendra Singh took oath as Minister

8. Sh. Som Prakash

Sh. Som Prakash as taken as Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry. He is elected from Hoshiarpur (Punjab) to the Lok Sabha. Sh. Som Prakash is a retired IAS Officer. 

Sh. Som Prakash
Sh. Som Prakash took oath as Minister


As former Government Officials,  the mentioned Minister's has proved themselves. They know all the good and bad of Government Jobs. As the unemployment rate is very high and further rising in the country, they may provide good input to the government especially in the government job sector. The ministers' now have to prove themselves to be better by giving better governance to the country.  Let's hope they will be good ministers and serve the people.  

Post a Comment